Scroll to content
School Logo

Morgans Primary School & Nursery

‘Nurturing Life - Long Learning’




Welcome to our Governor page. 


Here are details of how our Governing body is structured, names, roles and responsibilities of governors, and background information.

The school’s governing board is made up of up to 14 members: 7 co-opted governors; 1 Local Authority governor; 4 parent governors; 1 staff governor; Headteacher. There can also be associate governors with specific areas of expertise but without voting rights on the board.


Headteacher: Helen Melidoro

Parent Governors: Rebecca Tucker, Mark Fellows, (2 vacancies)

One Local Authority Governor: Clare Gittings

One Staff Governor: Daniel Collin

Six Co-opted Governors: Milena Nuti, Jenny Sippings, Sue Jones, Jan Wood, David Thomas, Samantha Whitbread

One Associate Governor: TBC


What we do:


The aim of the Morgans’ governing board is to support the school to deliver its vision of nurturing life-long learning.
The three core functions of the full governing body are:

  • ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school;

  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

School governors work on a voluntary basis. Governors work closely together with the headteacher to support the school and scrutinise decisions.

There are two full governing board meetings a term (three in the autumn term), either in the evening from 7.00-9.00, or in the mornings during school time, from 9.30 to 11.30.  Meetings are focussed on how we achieve our three core functions. Improving outcomes for pupils at Morgans drives everything we do.

Our work is structured around three committees.

These committees meet once or twice per term and report back to the full governing board :

Standards & Curriculum
Resources & Premises
Pay & Personnel

Each governor also acts as a Link governor with staff in different subject areas to monitor progress and report back to the full governing board. 

To contact the Chair of Governors or if you are interested in becoming a governor, please email:


Who we are:


Jan has been a Governor since 2016 in a co-opted role . She is retired now but previously worked in public service. Jan is the link governor for Safeguarding, Pupil Premium and Music. Jan sits on the Curriculum Committee.


Milena has been a school governor for 15 years and Chair of Governors at Morgans since 2020. Milena is a parent with a background in academia & science publishing and an active interest in public policy research. She is on the Curriculum and the Pay & Personnel Committees and is link governor for Equalities, PSHE, RE and Outdoor Learning.
Mark has been a Governor since 2017 initially as a Parent Governor and in a Co-opted role since 2021. Mark is a solicitor specialising in employment law with particular expertise in Employment Tribunal litigation. Mark sits on the Pay & Personnel, and Resources & Premises Committees and is the link governor for PE.
Clare has been a LEA governor at Morgans since the 1990s. Before she retired she was a teacher working in museums. She is a member of the Curriculum Committee and the link governor for History.

Daniel has been a staff governor for over a year and has been teaching at Morgans for 6 years now. Daniel has worked in a variety of year groups spanning from Year 2 to Year 5. He is the science coordinator and part of the Curriculum Committee.


David has been a governor for three years and currently chairs the Resources Committee. He is also the link governor for Science and MFL. He is an accountant and prior to retiring worked in the financial services sector. His three children all went to Morgan’s between 1994 and 2007. 

Governors who have stepped down in last 12 months:
Cetta Guglielmo (associate governor) left May 2023
Sam Ali (parent governor) left March 2023
Louise London (parent governor) left March 2023

Attendance and Business Interests


To see a copy of the governing board minutes please contact the school office.