Governors' Information and Duties

The school’s governing board is made up of twelve members:


Co-headteacher: Alis Rocca   (ex officio)

Four Parent Governors: Mark Fellows, Louise London, Kirstin Paisley-Pearce and 1 vacancy

One Local Authority Governor: Claire Gittings

One Staff Governors: Heidi Rooke

Six Co-opted Governors: Helen Jackson, Milena Nuti, Jenny Sippings, Sue Jones, Jan Wood, David Thomas

Two Associate Governors: Guy Chiswick, Cetta Guglielmo

What we do

The aim of the Morgans’ governing board is to support the school to deliver its vision of building learning power in order for our children to develop as lifelong learners and be the best they can be.
The three core functions of the full governing body are:

  • ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school;

  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

 School governors work on a voluntary basis.  Our board is made up of co-opted governors, parent governors, staff governors and Local Authority governors. We also have associate governors who do not have voting rights at Full Governing Board meetings.

There are two full governing board meetings a term (three in the autumn term), either in the evening from 7.00-9.00, or in the mornings during school time, from 8.30 to 10.30.  Meetings are focussed on how we achieve our three core functions, with improving outcomes for pupils at Morgans driving everything we do.

We have also have a curriculum committee and a resources committee. These committees meet once or twice per term and report back to the full governing board. The governing board and headteacher work closely together at all times.

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors or if you are interested in becoming a governor, please email:

To see a copy of the governing board minutes please contact the school office.